About Latvia

Republic of Latvia or Latvijas Republika

Latvian: Latvija Lithuanian: Latvija Estonian: Lati German: Lettland French: Lettonie Spanish: Letonia Russian: Латвия Swedish: Lettland Chinese: 拉脫維亞 Japanese: ラトビア Arabic: لاتفيا

  • Country code: lv
  • Currency: euro
  • Calling code: +371
  • Internet tld: .lv (.eu)
  • Time zone: eet (utc+2) eest (utc+3)
  • Weights and measures: metric

The Republic of Latvia was founded on November 18, 1918. It has been continuously recognised as a sovereign state since 1920 despite occupations and rule by the Soviet Union (1940-1941, 1945-1991) and Nazi Germany (1941-1945).

On August 21, 1991 Latvia declared the restoration of its de facto independence, re-established international diplomatic ties, and joined the United Nations. Latvia joined the WTO in 1998 and in 2004 became a member of the European Union and NATO.
The name “Latvija” comes from the ancient Latgallians, one of four Indo-European Baltic tribes, who along with Couronians, Selonians and Semigallians formed the ethnic core of today’s Latvian people.